Choosing a kayak

So...how did you decide how much boat was enough? I can eliminate a number of designs (6'4", long legs and a size 14 foot, 200 pounds, interested in recreational paddling on creeks/bays/protected open ocean), and slightly better than average skill as a builder. But, looking for example at the WD12, WD14, and Mill Creek 13, how would you balance hull weight, length, flat vs "V" bottom with slight rocker...or, are the differences so slight only a skilled paddler would notice? Any opinions about this that would help me make a choice? Thanks for your comments.

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Choosing a kayak

I am no expert, am finishing up my first Chesse 16.  Although it was recommended I build the Chesse 17, do to my size 6'2 220 with size 11 shoes.  CLC said the only way to know for sure was to get in one and try it- so I did.  Not sure were you live, but you can check the CLC schedule or call them and ask where they will be this year.  You might also want to consider thier open hull kayak. I tried that as well and was impressed.  You would not have to worry about weight and shoe size.  It is very stable, but not very fast.  It's a lot of fun and you get hooked quickly.  I'm already contemplating my next build!  Good Luck!