Wherry drop in rowing system

Hello,

My first post to the forum. I just completed the week build of the Annapolis Wherry in Port Townsend, WA. Great program !!

Has anybody worked out any options to the Piantedosi drop in rig ?? I checked one out at the clinic and I'm looking for options that would get the job done and not add so much weight to the boat. My background is in sculling and rowing, not boat building. The Peinert uses a very nice rig for their boats, and the Little River Marine folks down in Florida use a side mounted oarlock support that actually pivots parallel to the boat for hauling.

Has any alternates been kicked around ??

Chuck Tasca, Coeur d'Alene, ID

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Wherry drop in rowing system

Chuck,

I am also a sculler and have rowed both the CLC wherry and scull at Okumefest events.  I would build them both, if there was a lighter alternative to the 18 lb Piantadosi drop in.  The rig on my Little River Reggata weighs a fraction of that.  I have also been admiring the elegantly simple and light rigs on the sculls featured in a new book I obtained recently from Wooden Boat.  The alternative is to design a rig oneself, but there is a lot of engineering involved in getting the spread and angles exactly right to accept the Concept II oarlocks and maintain their full range of adjustability. 

What I would like to see happen is to have CLC contract with Piantadosi, or someone equivalent to design light rigs specifically for those boats.  According to the Alden site, Piantadosi now works for them and so may no longer have the flexibility of designing rigs for competitive boats, but he cannot be the only expert out there.  Perhaps Concept II would take on the project.  They are another great company like CLC and are very active in promoting the sport.     

Bob R.