Chesapeake 16

My first build, with a restriction of being able to get the kayak out a 10 1/2 inch window in the spring, has presented several challenges.

( My father build a 16 ft wooden boat in the basement and had major renovations to the doorframe to remove it, so several people are already laughing @ me )

I have been taking photos as I plug along, and with the help from this board, and several helpful websites I am on schedule for final sanding and varnish in the garage in late Mar, and April.

Here is a link to a few of my photos,

http://outdoors.webshots.com/album/576501980cddqOg?vhost=outdoors

Thanks to Mark, and Laszlo.

Ted B

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake 16

Hi Ted

I noticed that you had used marine ply for the main deck-beam.  No laminating ? Or am I wrong.

Dave

Hi Ted,

I saw the pictures, very impressive.  I have been working on my 16 on and off for several months.  Winter in Chgo is brutal, so I took some time off.  Just had the courage to do my fillets the other night, seem pretty solid.  Two questions for you.  It looks like you are using the same foot braces I purchased.  Does it tell you were to place them or can you tell me?  Also, I am trying to figure out how to do my end pours in my garage with an 8 ft ceiling and 30 degrees outside.  I have a little heated tent that I am working in so my options are limited.  Did you use a form to hold the end pour in place and did you have to use slow drying epoxy or did you use regular expoxy with hardner?  I had been told the regular epoxy will heat up and not work properly in that mass?  Thanks in advance for the reply.

Kiz,