A Wherry it is!

I was close to buying an Adirondack Guideboat, but it was just a little too wife friendly for me.  I want a man boat with a sliding seat that I can row fast without a picnic basket.  The Annapolis Wherry looks like the answer.  I had not planned on building a boat, but it does not seem too difficult.  I was an avid builder of audophile speakers, so I do have some experience building cabinets with semi-complicated interior compartments. 

Am I nuts or can I tackle a project like this without attending a class?  I have a 3-car garage and lots of power tools.  Upon completion, the boat would be transported to our lake house in the NC/GA mountains.  If I kept it out of the water in a covered boat slip, would that be acceptable storage for a wooden boat?  What options are recommended for this type of boat on a lake?   

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: A Wherry it is!

Wait, so you have some experience building in wood, you have some tools, and you have space to build it? I think you don't qualify for doing this, on account of being overqualified.

Many people build these with no room, minimal tools, and near 0 experience. I think you'll probably be fine. Or at least, that's what I tell myself, having just bought my first power sander, and getting ready to start my first boat, with no experience and a carport to build under, in the winter. :) 

-- James

Well then with all those positive waves, I can't lose! 

I am building the Wherry right now in a 18' long shed ... the boat is 17' 9". For heat, as needed, I use a kerosene heater for me and 65-100 watt flood type worklights for the boat. My woodworking skills could best be described as of the "handyman" variety, i.e. I do not build furniture but I can swing a hammer and use a handsaw. Between this forum and the support provided by CLC, I'm sure you'll do fine. You picked a good boat!