Annapolis Wherry

Does anyone have any thoughts/experience building an Annapolis Wherry from the plans only, rather than buying the kit?  I'm a furniture maker by profession, so the woodworking competence is there, but is the difference in cost worth the extra work and time required?  Is one better-off simply purchasing the kit?  I'd be grateful for any assistance.  Thank you.

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Annapolis Wherry

Here's my story. My first build was a Severn. There was no option for a kit at the time. I am an ameturer woodworker (mostly furniture) and found the woodworking part to be a breeze. My next boat was a Chesapeake from kit. I can honestly say that the cost of DIY -vs- kit comes out to be the DIY costing just a little bit less. But for me, not enough less to make the DIY my first choice. After that my Wherry was from kit. And you would think I would learn my lesson, but no. I started out with a strip built from plans only to find out that I couldn't get the supplies for the forms for much less than what I could get them already cut out from CLC. Now don't get me wrong. I am very glad that I did that original Severn from plans only. It really gave me the feeling that I "Built a Boat" -vs- "Assembling a Boat" (I now know that there really is no difference by skipping those initial cut-out steps). But after all these different projects, from a cost perspective, you really can't beat the kit cost. If you live right by the CLC shop you might be able to better the price by getting rough parts, but if you don't have a local supplier for all the "stuff", you will probably be getting all of it shipped from CLC anyway. Only one part at at time. It was nice when everything that I needed was right there and I didn't need to waste time waiting on getting supplies for the next step in the project.