Beautiful boats

Despite being around them for almost a year now, I'm still REALLY new to this whole kayak thing.

As I've been working on my forward stroke, I've realized what a subtle change is needed to stop me from bashing my hands into the side of the kayak, and with this realization, the "need" for the narrowest boat on the planet has diminished. This has created quite the dilemma for me.

You see, online, I fell in love with the Chesapeake 16. And I got a chance to paddle one, and was amazed at how fast and agile such a for-real touring boat could be. Besides the practical bits, it is to my eye, one of the most beautiful kayaks out there.

Then I paddled the (s&g) Night Heron, which I thought would be way too tippy to ever use (for an amateur like me) but was so amazingly well behaved, I fell in love again. That it was so narrow I could actually, even as clumsy as I was, paddle without mashing my fingers was, as stupid as I feel admitting it, a big point in it's favor. Ok, the going really fast thing was nice too.

And they're such different boats, well, I understand why people have to build 3 or 4. Come to think of it, the Wood duck is gorgeous, ad I do a fair amount of photography....

And… and… and…

And I realized what a wonderful, wonderful curse it is to be exposed to the work all the people at CLC are doing, to have so many beautiful boats accessible, with such a support structure and a real shot at actually getting them finished and in the water.

I wish I had more dilemmas like this, now for my w2 to get in so I can get my return back and finish this savings process for boat #1.

-- James

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Beautiful boats

James,

Welcome!

Firstly, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your articulate post, and couldn't agree more with your assessment of your dilemma.