Chesapeake 17

I have never built a boat before. Going to buy and try to build this  kayak. Is it easy to build? Please give me feedback and suggestions. Buying the kit in about a month. thanks

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake 17

Well, I'm not exactly the voice of experience here, having not made one myself, but I'm going to be starting mine at tax refund time, and I've been lurking on these boards for a while. I've seen a number of people tackle these as their first ever woodworking project, and have results that I'd be proud of. I doubt that building anything to be proud of is necessarily "easy" but I heard the words "attainable" and "achievable" thrown around once and I liked it. Empirical evidence points to it being achievable by those of us with minimal woodworking skills.

Here's hoping that's accurate, because even that is a generous description of my skills. :) 

-- James

TKellogg; James,

The boats are fairly easy to build... at times it gets tedious, but nothing difficult.  I'm getting ready to paint/varnish a 17LT, it's my first boat/kayak (you can track my progress, to include pics, on my post - Chesapeake 17LT (modified).  I've got lots of woodworking experience (and tools), to include building acoustic and electric guitars, but nothing that floats.  And I'd never worked with fiberglass/epoxy before.  But it's all very straight forward, no special tricks or skills necessary. 

The manuals that come with the plans or kits are very well laid out and any questions not addressed in the plans are easily answered here..., years of experience in these hallowed halls of nautical joinery!   Oh, you do have to like sanding... (haha, you'll get it before it's over!).

So I wouldn't hesitate, it's a very quickly rewarding project and one that'll give you a product that lasts a lifetime.

Enjoy,

Larry