So...I took the CH17 out for the first time.

Well, I was excited on Sunday morning to take my CH 17 out for the first time. I was hoping for a nice experience but things turned sour fast. I car topped the kayak for the first time(works out great),  I traveled about 10 minutes to the lake with no probs.  I put the kayak in the water..shes a beauty!  I manage to get into the kayak, paddle a few paddles......here comes the sour part.......then I rolled it and filled it with water. You should be laughing now. I wade back to shore, get the water out, find my cell phone is still in my pocket as well as my car key fob...oh well.  So, I try again,  I get a little further this time but roll it over again.  Geeezz, I am thinking at this point. I swim to shore, get the water out, and finally go out for a paddle.  Its my first time in 1 year in a kayak. I am thinking it was mostly me minus the muscle memory of balanceing the kayak.  The other bad part was that I did not install my foot braces yet. Do you think that I will have more stability once foot braces are installed? I have been in a few 17 foot plastic touring kayaks and I loved them.  The foot braces and knee braces are key, I think.  Any input would be appreciated. I have ordered the knee brace kit as well as foot braces now.  Being 6'-1" and 200 lbs may be part of this too. Top heavy/ center of gravity?

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: So...I took the CH17 out for the first time.

Definitely get the footbraces - could be lots of things, but I find them tremendously helpful in keeping reasonable form.