Shearwater 16 hybrid rudder

my boat has the hull completed and starting to strip the deck. As a novice paddler i fancy the idea of a rudder and this would seem to be the time to fit it; has anyone out there fitted a rudder to this boat?  Comments for and against most welcome 

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Shearwater 16 hybrid rudder

Scouser,Skip the rudder.  I built the 17' a few years back & with its rocker and fast hull, a rudder would be detrimental and just add weight.  It would be like putting training wheels on a racing bike.  Learn how to turn by leaning. If you still are considering a rudder, look first at a drop down skeg instead.

Scouser (Liverpool, eh?) – I predict you will be swamped with replies to this query, offering many differing and even conflicting views, if all well-meant!

I’m a total novice too, been out about five times for a total of maybe three hours in my just-completed Chesapeake 17LT, complete with brilliantly-engineered aircraft-quality  SmartTrack footbrace/ rudder system (see pics on recent “Sneak Peak” thread on this site).   

I installed this on the firm recommendation of a friend who introduced me to this pastime – he has been paddling for over 20 years, including in high-level competition.   Also at his suggestion, last time out I retracted the rudder while ‘out there’ to compare the feel of the craft with and without.   Conditions were slightly choppy with a brisk breeze.   I felt lacking control without the rudder, especially crossing the face of the waves with the breeze from the side.   Of course, my complete novice status would have contributed to this, but…