Basic epoxy wood flour questions

Happy New Year!

Please excuse the basic nature of these questions, I am a rank beginner with regards to using epoxy.

First: I have a CLC Toolbox that I would like to epoxy. Do I need to coat all of the pieces prior to assembly or assemble first and then epoxy? 

Second: The epoxy kit purchased with the Toolbox included wood flour. I am not sure what to use the wood flour for? Is this for filling screw holes/gaps when building boats but not needed for the Toolbox? 

Thank you!

Kind regards,

Topher

Sacramento, CA

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Basic epoxy wood flour questions

Hey Topher,

You gotta start somewhere.  While I admittedly have no experience with the new CLC toolboxes, I can only guess without reading the manual. 

I would say yes, it's easier to coat all the pieces with unthickened epoxy first while they're flat on the work bench.  You will probably need to roughen up the mating surfaces before assembly with sandpaper because the epoxy adheres better. 

Another guess is that the wood flour could be for thickening the epoxy that you put in the joints prior to assembly/clamping.  For the boat kits, wood flour is used to produce a fillet that transitions to pieces of wood in the corners, providing a kind of diagonal reinforcement between two pieced of wood that are joined at an angle.  Does that make sense?

If the idea is to thicken the epoxy that you put into the joints just prior to assembly, then we've all decided that slathering unthickened epoxy into the mating parts first, which allows it to soak into the wood fibers, which then in turn bonds to the thickened epoxy in the joint.

Nothing around here is ever easy, but it's always worth the effort...

Captain Skully,

Thank you for the input.