finishing walnut

OK, not a boat question, but a wood question.  I have a solid walnut coffee table, basically country primitive, made by a family member some 50 years ago.  It's never been finished, so has acquired a number of stains, water marks, etc.  I'm thinking of working on it this winter, sand it out, get some kind of finish on it to make it a bit nicer and protected.  Opinions:  oil finish, varnish of some kind, polyurethane? Oil finishes need reapplication. Satin varnish might do well, but will require more surface prep.  My style is not glossy piano-finished furniture.  It's mostly a mix of American country antique and euro contemporary.  Yeah, I know, but it works for me.

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: finishing walnut

Hand rubbed oil gets my vote.

Merry Christmas,

Laszlo

When I'm not building, or sailing, my boats, I'm a professional woodworker.  My favorite finish for walnut is the same as Laszlo's:  hand rubbed oil.  I like Watco Natural, usually three coats.  For more protection, wait 72 hours after the last application of the oil and put on some Minwax Wipe-On Poly.  I usually use one or two coats of the Watco, putting on the second coat with 0000 steel wool and wiping dry.  Then, after the 72 hours, I wipe on a coat of the poly every 4 - 8 hours with a clean cloth and wipe it almost dry.   6 coats, thinly applied, will still give you that close to the wood appearance but with the ability to withstand spilled liquids and other abuse.

Agreed.  That's the same way Ive finished a few gun stocks.  Works out really well.

You realize you could easily set off a religious war with this question right?

My personal favorite is shellac and wax. Shellac will darken the wood less than oil. It is sold as Sanding Sealer by Zinsser. The Amber stuff will darken and warm the walnut in a way I don’t find particularly attractive. It’s available at hardware and big box stores.