N E Dory (or Skerry) rails at the bow.

I'm studying the manuels for the NE Dory and Skerry. Both rails at the bow are rounded down to the sheer panel. I'm wandering why the rail profile is not extended out in front of the sheer panel so there would be a rounded rail at the very front of the boat. I figure there must be some practical reason this is not done. I would be interested in others ideas about this.

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: N E Dory (or Skerry) rails at the bow.

I believe the reasoning is it is more likely to snag on docks and such and be damaged. I've seen it done both ways so it's more a matter of taste. I did not wrap the rail on my Peeler and so far so good.

I ran my rails past the bow and brought them together. I prefer the appearance over the plan method.  I have had no problems with it.  I suspect the reason the plans have them stop is it requires less carpentry skill as they meet at a compound angle if continued.

I think that dorys were built as work boats, and the rounded bow is less prone to damage, and also allows llines or nets to be dragged from one side to the other over the bow more easily that a pointed bow.  I have a Chesapeake 17 sea kayak with a needle nose.  I'm about midway through shaping my rails at the front, getting ready to turn it over and fiberglass the hull, and am a little worried about that operation.    

javascript:void(0)

As you can see, the rails are rounded at the bow which allows lines to pass easily and gives a protrusion to bump piers, etc. wiothout the leading edge of the boat getting damaged.   Barry

bearnkar, your rail treatment at the bow looks great. I'm just about to glue my rails on my NE Dory and am considering this.

I'd be grateful if you could give some tips on how you did it. I guess I could

1. Glue a rail on one side and then trim it along the axis of the boat's length.