Next Boat Build!

Hi all, I built CLC's NE Dory two years ago and loved every moment of it...  I also love sailing and exploring with her.  

I'm a woodworker/fabricator by trade, I have access to a few incredible shops, and I'm pretty handy.  That being said, I'd like to make another (bigger of course) boat.  I'm trying to figure out exactly what it'll be.  I'd like to make something in a traditional style like a Mackinac Boat, but that's just an idea.  

Where should I start if I want to get into learning another form (beyond stitch and glue) of boat building?  I'd like this build to really challenge me and make me learn new things like strip planking, clinker, or carvel.  Not really sure what the intensities are for each one.  

Can anyone point me in a direction to take my next build a little higher?   Recommendations on any books, videos, or other resources would be fantastic!  

Thanks

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Next Boat Build!

I would look at Ian Oughtred's designs.  They're all classically beautiful and there are numerous styles and sizes.  He's also a contemporary and many people are currently building his boats worldwide.

You might give Tom Hill's book 'Ultralight Boatbuilding' a once over if your interested in glued-lapstrke construction (my personal favorite method). It gives you the basics in short order without lots of side tracks on handy tools and jigs to make the job go easier or quicker (not that they are bad things). It was the recommended guide by Paul Fisher when I purchased his plans some years ago. Also another prolific designer along with Oughtred; and very accessible through his web site and builders forum.

thanks!!