First canoe build

Hey there,

I am new to this community. Im in a bit of a crunch being an unemployed twenty four year old. So far, my sister's got a wedding coming up that I would love to build a cedar strip canoe for, with my twin brother. We were looking at CLC Mystic River Canoe kit as an all around solid option for the decals we want to put on. The down side would be the price. Im a super novice when it comes to this culture; I was wondering if kits are still my best option in terms of price and lack of proper equipment? Also if the mystic river canoe kit was the most recommended? Thanks, I'm looking forward to hearing what you guys have to say and embarking on this journey!

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: First canoe build

"We were looking at CLC Mystic River Canoe kit as an all around solid option for the decals we want to put on."....................You looking for a canoe or a display board?  I'm not sure those in the "culture" would appreciate you covering up the wood with decals as much as you might think.

.".....my sister's got a wedding coming up that I would love to build a cedar strip canoe for......"  ...........................How much time have you got till the wedding? If you end up working to a near dead line mistakes can be made just when you want the finishing to be perfect.

".....I'm a super novice when it comes to this culture...".................We were all first timers once.  I guess if you were inclined "culture" could apply.  Some might say a sickness.