New SW Dory build going on in South Florida

Hello everyone, I've been lurking awhile, but I received my SW Dory kit last week and am spending this week unpacking, glueing and stitching. I guess it's time to introduce myself.  Other than a Grain 10' Waterlog, this is the first time I've done something like this.  I'll be building in an open carport (covered) during the cool and dry Florida winter.  Any advice is welcome, and I'll be posting my progress here if anyone wants follow along.  

-Gene

Boca Raton, FL 

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: New SW Dory build going on in South Florida

Welcome to the club! I have just started a NE Dory! Good Luck and have fun.    

Thanks Mikeflys.

OK, three days in and here are my observations:

-Heat Gun rocks!!! I've never used one before and didn't really understand the advantage.  I used it to easily scrape away all the extra epoxy I apparently slopped all over the place. 

-Puzzle joints, not as easy as they seem.  I got mixed results with my puzzle joints.  Not sure if I thickened the epoxy too much, or didn't use a mallet, but mine are anywhere from square to a half a milimeter out of pocket.  I hade to do a lot of sanding to get them fair.  I'll also have to try and work some extra resin into the spaces where gaps remain.  Structurally, the side planks seem strong, just not as seamless as I would like.

-Tomorrow, I'll be starting the stiching part of the assembly.  Expecting a couple of bloody pokes. 

A Mallet?....not hammer mechanic work.....Sometimes light persuasion is necessary, but sand paper sanding of the joint edges to lower high spots should be all that is necessary. Then  regular hand pressure fit is all that is needed. Epoxy will fill the gaps. You can use thickened epoxy to fair out the low spots, but be gentle.     

I love that boat! I expect to hear you have sailed it to the Bahamas someday. Webb Chile's would have done it.

BocaGene,