how to smooth lapstrake seams

I'm a first time builder, and while I was successful in getting the lapstrake seams of my eastport pram filled with thickened epoxy, the joint is lumpy in places with high and low spots, and there are marks in the hardened glue where the copper wires ran across the seam.

I'd like for these seams to be smooth the length of the boat before finishing the hull.  I've had success grinding down some of the lumps with a dremel using a quarter inch sanding drum, but the surface is still uneven.

It was suggested that I lay a "final fillet" along the length of the seams to smooth things out.  I can see this working, but in places, the existing glue is right up to the surface of the "gutter" created by the seam, and I'm concerned that this approach will only work if the entire length of the seam is concave (allowing for the new fillet to fill the void).

Has anyone else confronted this?  Any advice for tools, techniques and solutions?  My inner perfectionist is going crazy with this stuff.

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: how to smooth lapstrake seams

Shinto saw rasp. Get the one that has the handle on top. It will lay on top of the lap and you can take off as much as you want. Just don't put to much pressure on it 

I used a wood dowel of the correct diameter for the shape you're looking for, wrap with sandpaper and go to town.  Also, don't forget the trick about smoothing epoxy fillets before it gets too hard with a gloved finger wetted with denatured alcohol.  Save a ton of sanding, works great, and leaves a nice, slick surface.

I used a combination of a tapered rat tail file or a chainsaw file on my lap strake joints to smooth out bumps and generally make the seams consistant.

These files work great for the first cuts on drips or runs rather than trying to sand it all.

Use a wire 'tooth brush' to keep the files clean.

Thanks all.