Interlux says 320 grit between coats, CLC says 400. Which one?

Interlux says 320 grit between coats, CLC says 400.  Which one?

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Interlux says 320 grit between coats, CLC says 400. Which one?

I guess it depends upon what you are trying to accomplish. I have a friend who has built 2 CLC kayaks from plans. They are works of art that any cabinet maker would be proud of. I'm not sure that they've ever been in the water. Their purpose is to be perfect examples of my friend's talent, skill, and patience. For him, like an artist or sculptor, it's the joy of the creative process that matters,

I, on the other hand, am not an artist or even a craftsman. I'm an engineer by temperament. Though I do want my boats to be attractive and well-made, I'm looking for a utilitarian finish that is durable, presentable, and easy to clean and maintain --- a finish with the primary purpose of protecting the boat so I can use it.

I lightly sanded with 220 grit between coats of Brightside. I'm sure my friend would use 400. 320 grit is a practical compromise. There are few absolutes in boat building.

Cheers,

Dick

I'm but a perfectionist, sad to say.  I am an artist yet my job is technical and my hobbies of flying is too. That makes it very hard for me to side either to be utilitarian because my artist and perfectionistic values kick in and say that’s not good enough.  Visa versa.  I don't stop till it’s perfect but at the same time I’m calling myself stupid for wasting valuable time making it so perfect I would be spending more time on the water.  The compromise of 320 is a great idea.  Though the problem still isn't good enough for my perfectionist side.  LOL...  I guess I'll use 320 until the last coat, I'll use the 400.  Now how's that for a compromise.