Non-marine ply build

Hello experienced people,

First, please don't jump down my throat and tell me how stupid I am - I am a qualified mechanical engineer & structural engineer and have a serious question .....

Why is marine ply the 'only' material for S&G construction ?

Seeing as a finished boat is encapsulated inside & out with at least 3 layers of epoxy resin, then numerous coats of paint &/or varnish ..... what is so wrong about using good quality non-marine plywood ?

Provided the epoxy layers are done to a high standard, and the paint/varnish too, the carcass is never going to get wet ..... hence the question

Thanks in advance for any replies

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Non-marine ply build

>>the carcass is never going to get wet

Ask Planned Parenthood about barrier reliability :-)

>>good quality non-marine plywood

Next to impossible to find

If you can find it, go for it.

Laszlo

Tony,

I believe that you are correct in that fully encapsulated non-marine plywood is protected from water absorbtion and is probably a structurally sound option. I've seen beautiful boats built with it. That being said, I will continue to use high-quality marine plywood for stitch-and-glue construction, primarily because I've also seen the additional labor necessary to make non-marine plywood work well. Some of the issues are:

1. Marine plywood is consistent in internal structure and bends in fair curves. Non-marine plywood is often less consistent (different woods and/or voids in inner plys) and is prone to less fair curves.
  2. Difficulty with checking and splintering on surface plys of non-msrine plywood.
  3. Patches in surface plys of non-marine plywood.
  4. Greater difficulty filling edges on non-marine plywood.
  5. Most stitch-and-glue designs assume the bending characterists of marine plywood.

Regards,

Dick

Laslo / Dick

Thanks for your replies - really appreciated