Pocket Change Possibilities

This post is directed at John and the crew at CLC. I've been looking for a good boat to build, since finishing my Peeler Skiff in 2014. The Peeler is perfect for its purpose, but I'm getting the itch to sail again. I think the Southwester Dory is a wonderful design, but I'm 70 years old and I prefer to overnight below decks. The PocketShip is another wonderful design, but too big a project for me and too expensive to get past our family's Chief Financial Officer. The proposed Pocket Change fits my requirements very well, but seems to be hanging fire or at least on a very back burner. What are the chances of getting lines, offsets, and/or panel dimensions for Pocket Change?

I've built a traditional Amesbury Skiff from scratch and I've built the stitch-and-glue Peeler Skiff from the CLC kit. I've been using and maintaining boats for over 50 years and I've gotten reasonably confident I could handle building Pocket Change without a kit. Is anyone else interested in Pocket Change?

Regards,

Dick

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Pocket Change Possibilities

Where did you see this design?

Camper,

I first noticed it in the Lug Nuts article by John Harris on April 2012. I was very interested in its size and layout.

Regards,

Dick

Dick,

I am in much the same position - looking for my next boat to build.  My short list include: Nanoship, Autumn Leaves, Scamp and if available Pocket Change.  I have a few remaining house projects to finish this winter, but would like to start this time next Fall.  In addition to my Peeler I sail a Cape Dory which is a great boat for Buzzards Bay.  I am looking for something smaller and lighter that can be quickly lauched to take advantage of the stray warm winter days, and also be trailered south when we get to that point.  While I would prefer a CNC cut kit, I would be happy to build without a detailed manual.

Jeff D

Jeff,