Paddle length for Wood Duck or Mill Creek?

Dear Wood Duckers or Mill Creekers,

You sit low down and you have a beamy boat: 29" for MC-13; 33" for MC-16; 30" for WD-12+14.

What length paddle do you use? Is a 240 cm (8 feet) paddle long enough or do you keep hitting on the boat?

The CLC paddle guide (http://www.clcboats.com/shop/products/boat-gear/kayak-paddles/werner-skagit-kayak-paddle.html) says 240 cm for all kayaks with a beam of "24-in. and up" yet 30 is quite a bit more than 24. REI says 250 cm for low angle paddling with beams over 32" (https://www.rei.com/learn/expert-advice/kayak-paddle.html). 250 cm is only 5 cm longer on each side of the boat.

I am prepared to make myself a custom sized paddle if that is warranted.

What height are you and what length paddle do you wish you had?

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Paddle length for Wood Duck or Mill Creek?

m.c.

I have no experience in the boats you mention but I have owned a plastic tandem for 8 years that is very similar to the wood duck tandem. My kayak is 13' 6" long and has a beam of 30.5 inches. I am six feet tall and use the paddles that came with the kayak, they are 230cm paddles and I have never had any trouble. A store like REI will let you return a paddle if you do not like the length. If you do not have an REI in your area, LLBean has a 60 dollar paddle available in 220, 230, and 240 CM. If it does not work for you they will allow a return, if you use their credit card return shipping is free.

I'm 6'1" and I have a MC 16.5. I use a 240cm paddle and have had no problems hitting the sides. I'll be curious to hear what you think later on.

I am a bit shorter but also found a 230 cm paddle to be long enough for the 30"+ plastic SOT that I used to have.