Tracking problem

Hello! I just finished a Night Heron high deck. I took it out on the river last Saturday and had a hard time keeping it tracking straight. Don't know if it's a technique problem or boat problem.  I'm new at this sort of thing and don't really know what to do. Any ideas?

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Tracking problem

Not even one?

Here is what you need to read:  Short answer, it is not the boat!  Good luck to you...

http://www.sit-on-topkayaking.com/Articles/Instruction/PaddleStraight.htm

One of the first problems most new kayakers encounter is going in a straight line. Their kayak will tend to wander like a stubborn mule with a mind of it's own. This is due to lack of experience, and to some degree the type of kayak they have choose. It is almost never because of a defective boat, even though this is the first thing to come to mind.

Kayak lessons will help. The instructor will teach a variety of paddle strokes and strategy to accomplish your goals on the water with those strokes. A good instructor and lesson program will teach you quite a lot more than stokes. I highly recommend taking a lesson.

Some kayaks will never go straight, they are not meant to. Surf kayaks and white water boats are just not "true trackers". Long touring kayaks will paddle straight, with some skill. Short recreational kayaks are easy to turn, but can also be paddled in a straight line with some practice.

Paddling in a straight line is the most efficient way to get from point A to point B. It is also nice to be able to "aim at a target" and "hit your mark." Wind, currents and distractions can knock you off your path and point you in the wrong direction quite easily. After all the surface of the water is a dynamic fluid environment. While a "snake trail" may burn more calories, a straight path will be more efficient and sometimes that is needed more.