Northeaster or Passagemaker for beach/island camping trips

Hi all,

I'm trying to decide between the Passagemaker or Northeaster for my first boat build. I've been woodworking for a few years, but I've never built a boat. The boat will mostly be used along the south shore of Lake Superior for three primary tasks.

Some background... My wife and I are avid campers (taking the 2 young children when possible). We've backpacked in the Porcupine mountains, so we're familiar with travelling light and bringing everything we need with us. What we haven't done much of is sailing. I've played around on a Laser knockoff in my younger years, and sailing has always appealed to me. It's just not something we've ever gotten into... mostly because of the cost of entry.

I have decided regardless of which boat I decide to build it will be setup with a lug rig for sailing for simplicity and reduced likelyhood of someone getting tangled in the lines.

As for the primary tasks for the boat:

First, my wife and I would like to camp on the Apostle Islands. My family has a cabin within a reasonable driving distance from Bayfield, WI (basically the closest place to put in a small boat for the Apostles), so dealing with potential bad weather isn't a big deal... if the forcast turns bad we can head to the cabin and still have a nice few days of vacation. On the other hand, assuming nice weather we'd like to sail among the Apostle Islands for 4-7 days hopping between islands to camp.

The second task the boad would be expected to perform is hauling my three young boys between the family cabin and the local park/beach. The park is ~2 miles down the shore from the (lake front) cabin. I'm fine with rowing a boat down to the beach for an afternoon of picking rocks and playing with the kids if the wind isn't cooperating, but I'll admit a small outboard doing the work sounds mighty appealing as well.