Northeast Dory vs. Chester Yawl

I'm considering building the Chester Yawl or the NE Dory.  It would be my first build using stich and glue, but I am a reasonably competent carpenter/woodworker.  Which is better for a first time builder?
I'm planning to use the boat  primarily for rowing but also for fishing.  I'm wondering how tippy the dory is-had some experience with other dorys before and found them rather tender. And, I do prefer the look of the Yawl.  
So, which would all of you recommend?  Thanks in advance for your help.

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Northeast Dory vs. Chester Yawl

For pure rowing I imagine the Chester Yawl will move a little faster.   But my NE dory rows extremely well.   The narrow waterline means a lightly loaded dory doesn't have a lot of wetted surface or cross section, so it's very easy to move with 8 foot oars. Put two people in it rowing tandem, it really moves.  

for fishing  I think you would find the much larger interior and higher load carrying capacity of the dory (800 lbs vs 450) to be a big advantage .   Especially if you like to fish with a friend or two.  After all, dories evolved as fishing boats!  

the dory is not that tippy. I can step into mine from a dock and walk around in it while underway (even under sail) with no trouble .  With its hull shape it will handle seas much better than the yawl.   The Chester yawl is a Whitehall type, these were designed for ferrying passengers around in protected waters.

For the rowing-only version, the dory is easy to build.  The only real woodworking is shaping the thwarts and the rails but they all come pre-milled.  The woodworking is more significant for the sailing version because you have to shape the foils (rudder and daggerboard) and the spars.

DonRobert,