John's Sharpie...?

Hello alll,

I am an arm chair builder and I've read abunch about "John's Sharpie"!   A pretty little boat and looks to be just as fast.  But, she has to be sailed agressively and one really has to pay attention or you might be swimming rather than sailing!

I've read John as saying that some sailors have used sand bags on either side of the centerboard trunk to settle her down.  My question is to whether anyone has tried anything else to make this more of an amiable boat? 

My eye says that we could change the rig to a lower center such as the Lug sails on the Southeaster or even a 4-sided sprit.  We could further reduce sail area and not sacrifce speed buy giving a larger main and smaller mizen; give it a true cat-ketch look.

Thanks ,

Josh

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: John's Sharpie...?

Josh,

It's a very amiable boat if you want a racer and have the skills to use it. If you want something more docile, try the NE Dory. It'd be a shame to hobble a thoroughbred because you actually want a plowhorse.

Fooling with the sailplan won't change the fact that you've got a long, narrow unballasted hull. Even with low center of effort square sails, it'll still require wide-awake sailing, so there's no real advantage over just reefing early and often (and maybe a couple of sandbags).

Have fun,

Laszlo

Seems like a good idea to me.