Allowable Spring-Back in the Stems?

Hello,

I am a first time builder and I am building the Freedom 17 from Bear Mtn. This is a faster tripping boat and the bow and stern are fairly vertical with the bend radius tight compared to other models. I steam bent ash for the inner/outer stems and after they are set up and glued they "spring back" about 1 1/2 or 2 inches off of either end of the stem mold. I can close the gap but it takes pretty good hand pressure. Should they conform exactly to the mold or is some spring expected? How much is too much?

Thanks.

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Allowable Spring-Back in the Stems?

Anthony it's typical for steam-bent (or glue-lam for that matter) to have spring-back once the completed part is released from whatever clamping/securing pressure is used in its fabrication. The thickness and (relative to other species) stiffness of the individual elements determines how much there'll be, as well as the shape desired.

Were I in your position I'd take what I got off the first attempt, estimate how much spring-back to allow for when building a new temporary form against which I'd form stem #2. 

This way the resulting part(s) will have the desired shape and strength while not having added built-in stresses trying to keep a 'sprung-fitted' stem under control. There may be times when such stress is a desired trait but I don't think your situation is one of them.

Anthony,

Just out of curiousity, why did you post that question here instead of the Bear Mountain builders' forum?  Please don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to chase you away or anything, but I would have thought that their forum would have more info about their boats. Or are the people here more knowledgeable? :-)

Again, just personal curiousity. Good luck with your build,

Laszlo