Help! Beginner's error/question

Hi Folks,

I'm definitely a novice. Just started building my first boat (eastport pram). I just lofted my first two sheets of plywood, kept comfortably outside the line everywhere, with one exception. And I'm trying to figure out how big a problem I've got and what to do about it. 

On one of the planks I cut just inside the line. It wasn't imprecision. I just had a moment where I got confused about which side of the line I was on. It wasn't by much. I'd estimate I was just over 1/16th of an inch inside. But it definitely cut into my arc. 

So my question is, is this a small enough error so it will get covered up in the stitching and epoxy phase? Or do I need to cut another sliver and glue it on? Or do I need to - ugh, really hope not - loft and cut a whole new plank?

Any advice or pointers, I'd truly appreciate it. Like I said, I'm very new at this.  

I'm adding a picture here to give as clear a sense as I can of the scale of the issue.

Josh

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Help! Beginner's error/question

1/16th of an inch is no problem.

If your cut is just on a small part of the plank, ignore it. If it's the entire plank, sand, plane or rasp the matching plank on the opposite side to the same size. Fairness is much more important than absolute size.

Happy New Year,

Laszlo

Yeah, the overcut runs for about 8 inches from starting at one end of the plank. And for better or worse, I was doing two sheets clamped together. So it's the identical mistake on this one and the opposite side one.