Scratching Building a 16' ceder strip canoe

Hello all...I'm new to this fourm and will be building a 16' ceder strip canoe.

The plans are from Floyd McGuckin & Jack Payn they used Redwood I'll be using Red & White Ceder and Ash.

My nick name is Splinterz25.... I was a cabinet maker/ machine opp. for 30 years

and also build large scale model airplanes as my hobby.

I saw one of these canoes while camping and decited to build one of my own.

Any help from you boat building vets will be very helpful and appreciated.

I'm in the process of gathering all the materials to start this build and should have enough to start w/ in a week or less.

Splinterz25

121 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Scratching Building a 16' ceder strip canoe

Splinterz25,

welcome.  a great general overview of the process is addressed in these two books that are available from CLC:

http://www.clcboats.com/shop/products/boat-building-books-kayaking-dvds/building-strip-planked-boats-nick-schade.html

and

http://www.clcboats.com/shop/products/boat-building-books-kayaking-dvds/strip-built-sea-kayak-nick-schade.html

there is a lot of duplication in these books but the first one actually takes you through the build of a strip-planked canoe.   the second book is a little more comprehensive in my view about general considerations in strip-plank building issues

i had a lot of similar type of experience but have found these books excellent reference and helpful in thinking ahead and addressing the things that come up during the build process.