To build a Canoe

I want to build a Cedar strip planked Canoe. I am a beginner. I am looking at Table of Offsets and Lofting. I cant understand much. Do I need to purchase a plan. And where can i buy an affordable plan.

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: To build a Canoe

CLC sells a book on building strip built boats that includes ofsets.  

The link below is to a book that claims to inlcude full size plans.

ttp://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/building-a-strip-canoe-gil-gilpatrick/1112649467?ean=9781565234833

I'm sure others will chip in with more options. 

A good set of plans and instructions usually runs around $60 or so.

As you get into the project there are many people here who will be happy to chip in with solutions to problems.

the best thing is that you can do it!  First try may not be perfect but if will float and paddle and people will tell you how beautiful it is even when you see all the little imperfections.

Warning, its addictive.  I have built 3 kayaks. Thinking about a 4th.

Ed

I forgot that CLC sells Guillmonts plans for the "mystic River Canoe." A beautiful boat.

Ed

if you are a beginner boat builder but an experienced wood-worker, you can work from plans (which you can buy) and other inexpensive resources like the forum or the strip built boat books sold at CLC.

if you are a beginner with no prior wood working experience, my recomendation is that you build from a kit....where the forms are cut for you and all the boat-specific material is sourced and pulled together for you (e.g., bead and cover strips).