Wood Duck 12 Stem and Stern solid pieces

I am a new builder working on a WD 12 and I am interested in adding the solid stem and stern pieces that I saw on Laszio's site. But I'm not sure of the sequence of events having to do with following the instruction manual, tacking the hull and deck, then fillet the bow and stern of the hull and re-attach the hull and deck assembly so that both cure in the proper shape. At what point can I epoxy in the solid wood stem and stern pieces. and still do the re-attachment of the deck and hull. Will filleting the bow and stern prevent me from adding these solid pieces after the fact.  

Thanks

Chuck

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Wood Duck 12 Stem and Stern solid pieces

I have followed alot of Lazlo's ideas. The right time is just after filleting, before you apply the 2 required coats of epoxy to the inside. Just make sure that they are recessed enough to avoid interference with the deck. Easier to adjust when wet than to chisel out later. I have used 1x2 with 2 edges removed with a block plane.

Good luck, JRC

Hi guys,

In my build I put them in after the seams were tacked but before the seams were filleted. If you're going right to filleting and taping without tacking, put them in after the taping.

Have fun,

Laszlo

Thanks JRC and Laszio for getting back to me on this. The instruction manual has a step that is part of the tack-welding the hull and it includes a fillet with thickened epoxy (no tape) in the bow and stern area to help stiffen the hull. I was concerned that I would not be able to fit the solid wood pieces in after. But I tacked it this morning and did a very narrow fillet in the bow and transom. No pieces of wood yet. The blocks of wood I made do not go all the way deep into the V. A small gap remained so I'm hoping that I have left enough room to add them next step which is after the tacks cure and before I fillet and tape the hull.  

Thank you guys

chux64