sculling

probably going to build the wherry tandem. i'm new to rowing was wondering what a good stlye of oar would be  for choppy water and  ease of learning . also what are some good rescources to get info on sculling?

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: sculling

I would recommend just plain old macon blade oars (the traditional shape) as being the easiest and most forgiving, followed by spoons (sleightly better performance, but harder to use). Hatchets, big blades, and the other more exotic shapes are good for specific applications, such as racing on flat water, but I doubt you would notice much difference unless you are a fairly skilled rower. I think the most important factors are the weight and balance of the oar, and the size of the grip. All the energy you have to put into holding on to the oar and recovering for the next stroke is wasted effort. Minimizing wasted energy is crucial, especially over long distances.

The limiting factor on speed is the length of the boat, so even if you are in fantastic shape and have top-of-the-line oars, you won't see a huge change in performance--All of the super fancy sweeps are aimed a racing crews who are trying to shave off a few tenths of a second (not something most of us have to worry about).

Poke around on youtube and you can find any number of videos on proper sculling form. If you're rowing tandem, coordination and timing have a much greater impact on performance than the type of equipment you use (one of the reasons rowing crews carry a coxswain). The Concept2 website is a decent place to start your research--they have some videos on technique and training, as well as descriptions of the different types of oars available.

correction--macon and spoon oars are the same thing. I meant to say straight blade is the easiest, followed by macon/spoon.

Hey psimian...