Going back to Captains 1015 Varnish

I have been varnishing boats for over 40 yrs.  I tend to be a bit old school and have used badger hair brushes for application with great success.

My first couple of CLC boats (MIll Creeks) turned out beautiful using Captains 1015.

Captains has been my preferred choice since the mid 70's.

On my PM build I order Interlux Scooner varnish.  I thought it would be as good or better.  I know CLC uses it and it seems to work great for many others.

I have had nothing but problems with it!

Pros:  On my spars it turned out great. both the spars and the boat are in the same shop which is maintained at 64 degrees with low humidity.  I use a dust filtration system and clean well before application.

On the interior every coat has turned out like 80 grit sandpaper? I thought it was dust however closer examination shows what appears to be millions of very small bubbles.  Sanding produced a smooth to touch surface however you can still seet the tiny impressions??  I have tried badger brush, foam brush, tipping all all the tricks and each coat (now 3) has same result??

I am moving back to Zspar Petit Captains 1015 and hopefully it will settle things down.

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Going back to Captains 1015 Varnish

Interesting. I had the same problem with Schooners. I had been using Epiphanes for years, tried Schooners, and will be using Epiphanes from now on. Could have been a bad can or two, I suppose. 

George K

Uh oh....i am about to order 1 qy of schnoor....my hull will be painted onside and out so only bilkheads mast partner rails will be varnished..my garage is not the best for air control...done a lotof painting but not any oil based varnish...did bristol on my catalina...hated it...what  should i order?   Curt  830/997.8120

Curt,