tools and materials needed for building Expedition Wherry

I am a first time builder and will be ordering my Expedition Wherry next week.  Are there any essential tools or materials that I should include in my order.  I will be ordering the complete kit.  Interested in advice for all needed items to start.  I will order the finish products at a later date

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: tools and materials needed for building Expedition Wherry

the following link on the CLC site has a list of tools/materials:

http://www.clcboats.com/default/stitch-and-glue-boat-building.html

CLC does not sell everthing that you need.  but usually, if they sell it, the price is pretty good.

i would start with their list ( http://www.clcboats.com/default/stitch-and-glue-boat-building.html) as a master list and do the following:

-confirm if you need it or not (e.g., you definitely need the items on the 'must have' and 'supplies' list.  most of the optional items, in my view, are not needed except for the high quality saber saw and electric sander.

- sort out what you already have and what you have to get.

- for your 'get' list, see which ones CLC has....and include it in your order if you are happy with the price.

a couple other thoughts.  as they say....lots of clamps are very helpful. i can't give you an exact number....but i have built similar project and i have an inventory of 30 spring clamps, 20 small (2 inch) c clamps and 15 large (3 inch) plus a dozen miscelanneous others.

when you get to sandpaper....you will use a lot of it.  so buy the grades you need for your sander and buy bulk if you can,  again, if you prep a list, some of the mail-order providers are very inexpensive.  you just need to club enough together to get the free shipping or have shipping paid for by the saving.  on a lot of the consumables, buliking it will get you douple the quantity at the same or better price than buying locally in small quanitities.