Dory Stern

I'm a HS shop teacher who just started putting together a Northeaster Dory with my students.  Of course, the first mistake was made the first day.  The stern was laminated together without removing the cutout in the center.  Now, I can rout that out I guess but I was wondering what the purpose of that relieved area is.  Is it just for looks or is there a function? I might consider alternate fixes if I knew the purpose.  Thanks for any replies, and you're sure to hear from us on occassion throughout the winter.  

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Dory Stern

The cut out in the transom is cosmetic, originally it would hold a sculling oar, but today's version is far too small to actually hold a useable oar. My Chester Yawl has one too.

Actually, you're probably refering to the oval (more or less) cut out in the inboard piece, not the sculling notch. That piece is mainly for aesthetics. The outer piece is to give strength to the transom and give a glueing surface for the sides. Might as well show those kids how a router works! Looking forward to updates. 

George K

Thanks George,

The oval cutout is what I was referring to.  If there's one thing a Woodshop teacher learns its how to fix mistakes  as there's no end to it, so we'll get it out cleanly I hope, or fill it with a thinner veneer of something.

Leaving the cutout in place presents no problem, and it will only strengthen the stern, especially where the bolts go thru for the lower rudder gudgeon.  My recollection is that there is probably a router slot around the perimeter that you'll have to fill with thickened epoxy.  Far easier doing this than trying to rout out the insert.

All fixed.........  Really pretty easy to do as we hadn't stitched it in yet so I could work on it flat on a bench.  Plunge routers are great as you can dial in the depth fairly precisely.  Just a little sanding afterwards.

Thanks for the help .