Sprit Sail Wrinkles

Let me preface this my saying that I have zero experience sailing a sprit rigged boat of any type. 

My observation: Most pictures I see of sprit sails show the type of wrinkles that, according to my current limited understanding, indicate an improper sail shape, either in the build of the sail, or in the trimming of the sail.

My question: Is my understanding correct? Or, is this just the nature of sprit sails, and it doesn't matter so much?  I've noticed this regardless of whether there is a boom or not.  Often, while looking at the pictures,  I imagine that loosening the snotter a little, and pulling the down-haul tighter would help.  Sometimes, I think that a boom-vang is what is needed.  

I sail the Jimmy Skiff with the three-sided leg-o-mutton sail with a sprit-boom, and I love it for its simplicity and reasonably good performance.  I am just trying to get educated on the diversity of other sail plans.

Thanks - Ron Paro 

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Sprit Sail Wrinkles