I think I screwed up!!!!!!!!

Today I was gluing up the Peeler bottom and could see I didn't have enough mustard mix for the doubler after my mixing container was half empty. So,,,,, I just added more epoxy mix to the same container, stirred and applied. I think what I did was a NO-NO!!!! Am I right? Not alot of time had passed since the original mix. At last check, it seems to be kicking but maybe alittle slower.  I'm new at epoxy work.  Thanks, Ken.

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: I think I screwed up!!!!!!!!

You're fine.  We all do this.  Standard procedure.

Thanks so much,,, now I can sleep tonight.  Ken.

Epoxy manufacturers often say that a large majority of epoxy problems are caused my inadequate mixing of resin and hardener. With that in mind, I like to mix any fresh epoxy separately in its own container. I think that way I get more thorough mixing than if I just added the correct ratio of additional resin and hardener to an older batch, and mix it all up together. It doesn't really take any more effort. But if you mixed everything very very well you will probably get away with it.

Old Yeller

It only takes one experience of spending several days removing uncured epoxy to make a builder very careful about mixing ratios and thorough mixing. I would never add a new mix to old, even if it means tossing out some aging mixture. -Wes

I will never, never, never, do what I did again. Yesterday I mixed some fresh in with the old,,, that was my 1st mistake. Then,,, I mixed up another batch (fresh) but was having trouble with resin pump. It kept locking down and sometimes didn't come way back up. I though I pulled it up each time except once. So,,,, I added just a dab more resin to the mix. This morning, all batches were stone hard!! I had beginners luck I guess. IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN. Thanks everyone for the help.  Ken.