Shearwater 17 hybrid - rear bulkhead not right

I have just returned to building my Shearwater 17 hybrid after having a 4 month break from it.  I have been building it for 18 months off and on, very frustrated with the process as I have never had trade skills and every step seems to take forever while the instructions seem to assume capentry skills (which i have none).

Anyway, back to it and keen to get into it and hopefully will have it built in a few years.  I have completed the hull and am just starting to strip plank the deck.  I notice that the rear bulkhead after stitching and fibreglassing does not line up to the side of the boat, falling a few millimeters out.  This seems strange as it was stitched up with the holes in the kit properly (ie front bulkhead aligns perfectly).  Is this a fault with the kit and do i need to somehow correct it before doing the deck, as the deck will have a large gap to the bulkhead if I do nothing.

Also, i notice that the forms do not fit properly in the cockpit area (not wide enough to fit cockpit) and I am having to find some way to prop it up to align correctly in prep for the strip-planking process.

Overall, i have found this much, much harder than what i imagined and with no real local support, but the forum has been great when i have used it (so thanks!).  i have tried to copy in a picture but it seems I cannot.

Struggler

Australia

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Shearwater 17 hybrid - rear bulkhead not right

You may be expecting too much and trying too hard to make a perfect boat. If your joints are only off by a few millimeters, you are doing really well. Most of us miss by up to an inch.

Keep in mind that you are not building a precision machine or a piece of heirloom furniture. You a building a toy for fun that will get scratched, dented, and generally beat up if you use it right.