kaholo 14 3rd fin

i cracked my left fin and need to replace it , was wondering if it would be worth it to add a third fin and if so where?

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: kaholo 14 3rd fin

What do you hope to accomplish, Greg? I did some (admittedly half hearted) research on the subject when building my board and most of the info I found seemed to pertain to the dynamics of "surfing," not so much flatwater padlding. I have no real surfing experience, so that's all I'll say. Ultimately I installed a single fin box and have been using a 9" fin. It tracks really, really well. Maybe I'll experiment with something smaller, but I'm happy with the performance for now.

Did you find your board wanting in this regard with the two smaller fins? How are you using the board? These were the guiding questions that kept cropping up when I was looking for info. If you can answer them you may find your best path.

Good Luck,

Patrick

no need for a third fin on the kaholo.  the two skegs are meant for tracking the board straight.  If you feel you need more depth just lay up some cloth to make them deeper after you make the new one or make two new ones a bit deeper and maybe with more base or more depth and rake.