Guillemot Play

I'm planning to build a Guillemot Play for my Granddaughter, she lives on a Lake here in central Michigan so that;s what it will be used for ,to play. I've wanted to build a Guillemot for some time now so that gives me an excuse and it will be a stripper.

My question, has anyone out there built one and is there anything I should be aware of, or issues you might have ran into.

I have built a strip canoe and the CLC SUP, so I have some experience.

Thanks in advance, JC

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Guillemot Play

I am just now joining the deck to the hull of a Petrel. I don’t have any experience with the Guillamot Play, but here are some thoughts that I hope will be helpful.

I don’t know if you used a CLC strongback to make your canoe, but I found building the CLC strongback to be tricky. There’s a tiny drawing showing how it’s assembled on a sheet of paper included with the kit. I recommend going to Kinkos and enlarging it, number the pieces on the drawing and then identifying and numbering the corresponding pieces of wood to make the strongback. Then assemble it by the numbers.  There’s more strongback material than you need, so identify how many feet you from the attached plans and don’t bother making more than you need.  As you make the kayak, make sure your supports (sawhorses, whatever) are the right distance so the strongback stays straight. If the supports are too far apart or too close together, the strongback can bow out of line and affect the rocker of the kayak.

Be careful to make sure your forms are aligned because that affects whether your kayak is straight, and be especially careful to line up those bow and  stern forms, making sure they’re vertical and lined up right.