Tippy canoe, seats in wrong place?

Hey guys, Tyler here. I'm new to this forum. I have been building a cedar strip canoe for the past 3 years, a day here and a day there. I've finally finished the canoe a few days ago and took it out on the water. I might also note that it is not a canoe provided by CLC boats. However, I am here because I feel that my question may be answered here (I also plan on building one of the kayak kits in the near future). So, the problem.... I have a 16' tandem canoe (I think it's the "Companion). I've installed the seats in what I thought was an ok position, plenty of room at the bow and far enough forward at the stern. Both seats are 9 1/2" to the bottom of the seat to the hull as per canoecraft's reccomendation. My girlfriend and I took the boat out for its maiden voyage and found that it was REALLY tippy. I am an avid boater and have paddled many different canoes, kayaks and ADK guideboats and even I thought it was tippy. So we decided to kneel, it was a little bit better not much though. Then I had my girlfriend sit directly on the hull behind her seat while I sat on my seat. This worked very well, it was still a tad tippy bit withen my tolerances. I am wondering what the deal is? Is 9 1/2 to high? Should I move the seats closer to the thwart? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tyler

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Tippy canoe, seats in wrong place?

My understanding is that tippiness (otherwise called initial stability) is determined by the corss section profile, the overall width and the hight of your center of gravity relative to hull.  Kneeling was a good idea but does not lower your center of gravity that much.  Sitting as your wife did lowers the center of gravity even more.  Many canoes are made to be super stable.  Some are designed to be less stable, and perhaps more responsive.  You can not change the hull shape, so...