Kaholo 12'6" or 14'

I'd appraciate any feedback regarding the selection of the Kaholo 12'6" or the 14'. I DO have the 12'6" on order but want to make sure it's the right kit before it actually ships to me. I have a small frame (about 135lbs) and paddle a great deal and although I do not compete (yet) I am a student of paddling technique and effeciency, monitoring my stroke and pace and consider myself a strong and agile paddler. I currently paddle a Hobie ATR 10'6" and a Hobie 12'6" Elite racer. I would like to think I am not compromising anything in terms of the boards performance by going with the 12'6".  Thanks for your input!

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kaholo 12'6" or 14'

If you already have a 12'6" racer, might you not be better off getting the 14? The 14 might be more useful for open ocean/downwind paddling.

Your weight might be the deciding factor but you indicate that you are a strong paddler

Thank you Craig for the response. I hear what you are saying about the Hobie 12'6" I am using. That particular board is a loaner from kayak/SUP shop I work at and has a flaw in that it has more rocker than it should, so the performance of that board is uncharacteristically compromised.

The Kaholo 14' would push my storage capacity to the limit but I could swing it. Most of what I read about the Kaholo design and performance highlights the 14' specifically as the board nearly everyone is using and referring to when they are discussing the boards vitues.

In the case of the Kaholo models, does the general rule of thumb hold that the longer the board the better the glide?

If that is the case and it is significant than I will reconsider and go with the 14'. 

Again, I appreciate the feedback!!!

14' may be gotting all the kudos because it has been around for awhile. 12' 6" version is new - just released. That said, at our recent SUP race in town all but one of the top flock of finishers in the 10k race were on 14' boards.