Looking for help in the San Rafael, CA area

Hi All,

This is a call for help :)

I am a total beginner and I would love to build a kit. I would love to learn the craftmanship with someone who has already built.

Please please please, contact me if you can offer me some help. It would be greatly appreciated!

Fred.

12 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Looking for help in the San Rafael, CA area

You are going to love doing this.  While you are waiting for somebody local, the forum is a huge help.  Also be sure to check out the "Tips for Boatbuilders" tabbed at the top of CLC's Web page.

Hey Fred,

Just order a kit and build it -- I did.  The one tip I would suggest is don't fret about varnishing on your 1st build -- just paint.  You are not going to do museum quality work the first time out.  Accept that it will have imperfections.  Do you best and enjoy the results.  It will float and any CLC design is attactive enough to be eye-candy.  Others will envy your results.

Al

Hi Fred,

I totally agree with first comment.  Instructions for most kits are fairly good and this site is excellent.  I built two kayaks kits off supplied instructions.  Also I loved the finished wood appearance on both boats which still amazing me whenever I look at them.  I did paint the hull of my shearwater just because I liked the color and wanted to try something different and I like that as well.  San Rafael is a great place to kayak. 

I live in lafayette across the bay if you're ever out my way we can discuss.  From time to time I'm in San Rafael as well

Goodluck

Brad

artic tern:http://www.flickr.com/photos/greyskies/sets/72157616380889704/

shearwater :http://www.flickr.com/photos/greyskies/sets/72157625896454156/