Advice: First time boat building?

Hello all, 

I've been sailing all my life.  I love the water and I love boats.  My latest ambition is to build a boat.  My grandfather always wanted to build one with me--we never did--and since he passed last month, my desire has increased dramatically.  

Anyhoo, I stumbled upon this site and it seems that a kayak kit is a great place to start.  I am seeking any recommendations for a moderately priced complete kit. I have no experience in boat building, although I have amateur carpentry skills and can follow directions.  What's my best option?  I look forward to your suggestions and advice, 

thanks,

Charlie 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Advice: First time boat building?

Is this boat for you to paddle?  What kind of paddling?  Your age, size, weight...

Built my 1st boat 2 yrs ago and I had no woodworking skills beyond a birdhouse.   

Kim

The previous reply is a good one.  What will you use it for?  I wanted a boat I could sail and row and introduce my kids, and wife to boating.  The Skerry was fantastic for that. 

To build the boat you need some space, some time and commitment.  The support of the folks at CLC and builders forum helped me through when I had questions.  I adore the boat's performance and aesthetics.  We've done many day trips and quite a few overnight, beach camping trips.  I get lots of compliments.  The directions are good. My experience was similar to yours.  If you love boating as you say, you will probably be thrilled with the result and enjoy the memories of your grand father in the process.  Perhaps you could get your dad to help some and have some of his memory attached to the boat.

Good luck,  Vince

Charlie:

As prior posts suggest, step 1 is to figure out what type of boat you want to build? If that means a kayak, do you want a boat for 1, 2 or even 3 people?