Lofting errors in the mill creek 13 manual and plans?

I am in the process of building my first MC13 from the kit and and was looking down the sheer panels after scarfing them together and noticed that I had a very slight kink in the top of the panels where the scarf joint is.  I used the scarf offset specified in the manual at 1 3/16".  this got me to thinking and I looked up the table of offsets in the plans and noted the offsets for the lower edge were only 7/8 to 15/16 from the base line in that area.  So being that I am an engineer, I took the table and plotted the offsets in CAD and drew a spline through them.  I did find that at the scarf joint based on the spline it came out to be slightly less than 15/16" and not 1 3/16".  I did also notice in the CAD model that the front half of the lower edge was rather wavy and not all that "fair" based on the offsets on the drawing.  Has anyone else found this to be true or am I just worried about nothing?  I am enjoying the build so far although  I'm only at the stitching phase right now.

Thanks for any input.

Brian

2 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Lofting errors in the mill creek 13 manual and plans?

Input any ten kayak designs into CAD from offsets on blueprints and you'll get waviness.  This is not tomfoolery, but the nature of rounding the dimensions to the nearest one-eighth or one-sixteenth.  It only takes 1/32" to introduce a bump into a CAD drawing.  Unless we give you three decimal points for every offset, it's impossible NOT to have some departures.