CH 16LT or CH 17LT

Hello you all.

I'm going to build a kayakk but can't deside which one of the Chesapeake 16LT or 17LT to build. I have paddled a little earlier so I don't consider myself a total newbee:)

My size is 170lb and about 5ft,7inch or 77kg and 170cm.

I guess I need a LT because of my length?

Any suggestions?

Best regards, Yngve Sekkenes, Norway.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: CH 16LT or CH 17LT

I'm about the same height and weight as you and CLC recommended the 16LT, so that's what I'm building.

Mark 

Thanks, then I will go for the 16LT. How many ours do you think you need to build one?

Build times a re difficult to predict, they depend on many individual factors. In CLC's boatbuilding classes, the students put together a bare hull in a week. They start with kits. Tools, workspace and experienced instructors are provided. Other than biological necessities, they do nothing but work on that boat all week. At the end of the class the boat still needs to be sanded, painted and/or varnished and rigged. This can take another 1 to 2 weeks because of the need to wait for paint and varnish to dry between coats. So 1 very intense week of construction, then 2 weeks of steady work should do it for the best case.

Other people have taken years.

If you don't have a heated workspace, weather becomes very important. If the daytime temperatures get below 60F (16C), epoxy cures slowly, if at all. You'll need to either wait for warmer weather or set up heaters, heat lamps, etc. When I built a 16LT I ended up not doing any work between November and March.

If you have a very busy personal life with many family and work commitments, that can add to the amount of calendar time you need to build the boat.