New guy here, lot of easy questions for you

Hi, 

I'm planning on getting a Passagemaker Dinghy around Christmas. and had a few questions before I make the final decision.

Question 1: 

Being an electrician, I'm quite handy with tools, and have a good many... but most are for electrical work, and not woodworking. Would anyone care to give me a rough idea of some of the tools that would be required to build this? I know I will need to purchace a few saws and clamps. I have a random orbital sander already. Any advice here would be great. expecially with the bigger power tools that would be handy.

Question 2:

In the description of what all comes with the kits, it lists all the fiberglass and resins etc.. From a builders point of view, do the amounts they send do the job well? (allowing for some begginers mistakes) or should I plan on getting more to complete the job?

Are there any additional materials (hardware, fasteners, etc.) that I need to buy?

Question 3:

this may be a matter of opinion here, but I have never sailed a boat before. I have rowed and motored one, but never sailed. Would this make a good beginners boat to sail?

this leads to question 3.1:

Sloop vs Lug rig. 

According to the site, the sloop rig delivers a bit more speed than the lug rig. I am not after speed here at all, but I am after a learning curve that my family and I can conquer easily =)  

Thats all I have for now, but I'm sure I will have many more questions between now and December.

thanks,

~moo!~ 

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: New guy here, lot of easy questions for you

Hey CoffeeCow - come join the fun in the Passagemaker forum at: www.pmdbuilders.net   It's all about PMDs...tons of great info.

To answer your specific questions: