What type of paint?

I am a rookie working on my first boat.  I'm building a mill creek 13.  I want to paint the hull black.  What type of paint should I use?  Do I have to use the Polyethylene type paint or can I use a different kind of paint then varnish over it for the glossy look?  Thanks folks!

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: What type of paint?

I use automotive acrylic urethane on my painted hulls but wouldn't recommend it at all if you don't have spray equipment and a good respirator. Holds up better then any single part marine paint I've ever used as long as it's not used on something that's kept docked in the water all season.

Chris

haha sorry i meant polyurethane type paint.  No spray equipment here so that won't work.

For a black hull I would recommend epoxy & graphite.  It not only creates wonderful finish, but it is also super scratch resistant.

David,

How much graphite do you mix with epoxy?  I see I can buy 1 lb of Dixon graphite for $8.  Is it that cheap?  You've got me interested.

Thanks,

Trevor

you mix the Graphite 50/50 by volume.  Not sure how big 1LB is, I bought the West System in a can. The small can that they do not sell anymore did my WD12 two coats and the bow & stern rub strips on three other boats.  The bigger can is 1.45lb and sells for 17.00CDN @ Noah's, so your price sounds in line. 

my suggestion is buy the Graphite, mix a small batch and do a test on a piece of scap.  See how you like it.  Oh, and that small can also did my test piece too :)  I think you will really like it.  After bouncing/scrapping across some rocks on the St. Laurence and then hoisting her up a rock face for a photo contest, I am really glad to have had that scratch resistance on the WD12 :)

Also, mix your unthickened epoxy and pour that into the Graphite powder.  if you do it in the other direction, it gets lumpy.  Check out Laszlo's blog for pictures and description. 

awesome thanks!