Building a 14' tandum

I have a couple of power boat builds under my belt , one being the Glen-L TNT modified to be jet-ski powered.

Now I want to build a 14' tandem Kayak . I was at Bass Prow and saw the Old town Excursion 2, took a few measurements and did a 1/4 section mock up. I have left over material 50 yards of 6 oz. cloth 50'' wide, some paint ,and a gal. of epoxy resin since 2007, so I need to build another boat.

Any sugestions on what I have come up with? 

http://s147.photobucket.com/albums/r302/scrawford_photos/Kayak%20project/

16 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Building a 14' tandum

I like the multi-chine hull.  Not sure how well two people will fit in a 14 footer; seems like 16 would be a minimum (but I've no experience with tandems).

My only suggestion would be to build it as a stripper instead of plywood..., that's what my next boat will be. 

Good luck,

Larry

kayakAbout 9 days later this it what I have come up with not having any plans.

Awoodman,

That's very nice, especially considering no plans!  I take it those frames remain in place?  Is the hull stiched together? (difficult to see the stitches on my computer).

Keep posting photos,

Larry

The plywood (moisture resistant luan) is stitched together and the frames will stay. I weighed the ply pcs. after they were cut out and they total 20lbs. + the frames.

Moisture resistant is not waterproof. It's liable to delaminate. If you have any scraps boil a piece for about 30 minutes to get an idea of how reliable the glue is.

Luan usually have very thin outer veneers which won't contribute anything to the strength of the panel.