Multiple Glass Layers on Hull - SH

I'm new to fiberglass work, and I'm getting ready to do the outside of my Shearwater hybrid hull. I have a few questions:

1) I'm considering doing the 3 layers separately, and my instinct is to do them in the following order: bottom, keel ends, entire hull. Any reason NOT to do it this way?

2) For the football-shaped bottom layer, it would seem logical to have the glass overlap the chine joints to protect them against impacts/abrasion, but the instructions don't seem to specify this. Any guidance?

Thanks, Pat

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Multiple Glass Layers on Hull - SH

I did mine as per the directions...hull, bottom, keel. Seems to me doing it that way, if you scrape the keel and have to sand the glass you're not sanding the main sheet, just the strip.

Dan

Dan,

Did you do them all at once or one layer at a time?

All at once. It was a little tricky to keep it all in place, but not too bad.

Dan

If you're new to glass work you may be better off doing them one at a time. Doing all at once has a risk of bubbles, excessive epoxy use and excessive weight. It's definitely possible to do a good job either way, but easier, albeit slower, to do it one at a time.

If you do end up doing it one at a time, you only need to wait until one sheet cures to just beyond tacky before you can put the next sheet on. As long as it's not a complete cure, you don't have to worry about blush or sanding and you'll get the much-desired "chemical" bond rather than the maligned "mechanical" bond.

Good luck either way,

Laszlo