Anyone ever tried a reverse hybrid?

Intro:  I've never built a CLC before (plenty of admiring from afar), but I have three more or less successful boat builds (two scratch and one extensive modification) under my belt plus four or five "others" or "learning experiences".

None of my builds were strippers or stitch-and-glues, but as I understand it the comparison between the two (in very basic terms) boils down to the fact that S&G is quicker and simpler because there are much fewer pieces of wood to assemble, whereas strip builds are more cosmetically intricate, lighter, and can be built with round, low-drag bilges.  Please feel free to add anything I may be leaving out.

The Hybrids I've see seem to combine some of the simplicity of an S&G with the beauty of a strip build.  To me, though, the practical (hullform) advantages of strip construction are more important than the cosmetics, and I'm intrigued by the notion of taking the opposite tack:  beginning with a strip design and simplifying construction by substituting ply in flat areas where it won't adversely affect the hydrodynamics.  Some of the more traditional designs are nothing but curves, of course, but others seem to have areas (bottoms, topstrakes, and decks) that could be ply-planked without too much difficulty.  Has anyone ever done this?  I'm thinking about trying it myself, but it seems as though the ply areas would come out to irregular shapes that would best be optimized by an experienced designer using CAD.

Take care,

Mike

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Anyone ever tried a reverse hybrid?

Mike,