Max safe windspeed to sail Skerry for intermediate small boat sailor

I have been sailing small craft all my life but am largely self taught.  I built the Skerry a few years ago and was going to take it out today on the Potomac River, near where I live, but opted not too when I learned that there was a small craft advisory with sustainedwinds at 20 knots plus and gusts way above that.  Has anyone got any feel for what the maximum safe wind speed would be for a skerry for a moderate to advanced sailor? 

15 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Max safe windspeed to sail Skerry for intermediate small boat sailor

I'd consider John Harris an advanced sailor and I saw him successfully take a Skerry out at Okoumefest 2006 where it was a bit windier than this last weekend here in MD. Other than a lost paint chip which occurred during a launch from a lee shore into nearly 30 mph winds everything was fine. John made it look easy and the Skerry looked to be outpacing the photo boat, which was running an eggbeater.

Laszlo

An "advanced" sailor, particularly one comfortable with that particular boat, could manage 30 knots.  It'd be an athletic day.  If you made a habit of it, you should arrange for a halyard and reef points.  Other sailors might come to grief in 12 or 14 knots of wind.  The Skerry is a 100-pound boat, 30lbs less than a Laser racing dinghy.  Safety in any sailboat that weighs less than about 1500lbs will depend mainly on the skill and judgement of the crew, not innate qualities of a particular design.

Structurally, the only weak point on the Skerry when pressed hard seems to be the gooseneck.  The boom can split if you find yourself "by the lee," something that seems to have happened in Skerry #1, below, viz the lashing around the boom at the gooseneck.  

Hi Everyone,